CD Reviews
Michael Monroe – ‘XXX: The Best’ (Spinefarm/Universal Music Group) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Dom Daley   
Monday, 26 June 2017 04:30

Michael Monroe XXXapproved small 2013There’s not much more you can say about the most suitably named compilation album to be released so far… except maybe to explain why this 29-track conglomeration really does represent ‘The Best’ of Michael Monroe’s post-Hanoi career. And who else would we ask to proffer that explanation than or very own rock ‘n’ roll bloodhound, Mr Dom Daley?

Read more...
 
Orden Ogan - ‘Gunmen’ (AFM Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gerald Stansbury   
Monday, 26 June 2017 04:00

Orden Ogan artworkOrden Ogan are a German power metal band who both claim not to be a power metal band and have been on and off Über Rock’s radar for the past few years… but, they haven’t crossed that of our self-confessed Helloween fan, Gerald Stansbury, as so he came with a pair of fresh ears to their imminently released fourth studio album. Click the link to find out if these particular gunmen hit the target or left our Texan Ranger wanting to shoot himself:

Read more...
 
Cheap Trick - ‘We’re All Alright’ (Big Machine Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gerald Stansbury   
Friday, 23 June 2017 04:30

Cheap Trick - WAA artworkapproved small 2013Forty years since they released their self-titled debut album, Cheap Trick – regarded as one of the most eccentric and innovative, never minding enduring, hard rock bands of their generation – have emerged from the studio once again to present us with their 18th studio album. Our man Gerald Stansbury reckons it’s a wee bit more than alright, as he heaps copious praise on the opus and recommends that you rush out and get a copy post haste – but not until you’ve clicked the link to find out why:

 

Read more...
 
42 Decibel – ‘Overloaded’ (Steamhammer/SPV) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Phil Cooper   
Wednesday, 21 June 2017 04:00

42 Decibel artworkIt’s only rock ‘n’ roll mofos, but we love, love, love it… especially when it’s turned up LOUD! And, as Phil Cooper discovered when he twisted his volume button as far as it would go, it doesn’t come much louder than this quartet of rockin’ ‘n’ rollin’ reprobates from down South America way… click the link to find out why our man is simply overloaded on guitar driven anthems and his headbangin’ till his ears pop:

Read more...
 
Valor – ‘Arrogance The Fall’ (Pitch Black Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Phil Cooper   
Monday, 19 June 2017 04:52

Valor artworkThey say that pride comes before a fall. Well, in the case of Greek power metallers Valor, it is arrogance which causes that effect, as they set out to prove on their third, just-released long-player. Our man sent into battle on this one was the more than capable Phil Cooper. Click the link to find out if he was left in a bleeding heap after leaping from a cliff face, or did he triumph over the adversity of mediocrity:

Read more...
 
Status Quo – ‘Blue For You’/’Just Supposin’/’Never Too Late’ Deluxe Editions (UMC) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Mark Ashby   
Saturday, 17 June 2017 04:00

Quo - Blue For YouAre Status Quo coming to the logical end of their career? While no official announcement has been made about the future of the band of which Francis Rossi remains the only founder member, following the death of his lifelong partner in music and friendship Rick Parfitt, it is a debate that is enervating fans… but one that is for another day here on Über Rock. In the meantime, deluxe editions of a trio of albums from what could be argued to be the band’s commercial and creative heyday have just been issued. Mark Ashby sat down for a marathon seven-disc listening session:

Read more...
 
Radioux City – ‘Soul Survivor’ (AOR Blvd Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Dave Prince   
Wednesday, 14 June 2017 04:00

Radioux City artwork‘Soul Survivor’ is an apt title for this long-lost set of recordings from the then ill-fated Radioux City. Some 25 years after the band found that the time wasn’t quite right for their brand of groove/soul metal, they’ve dusted off the recordings, given them a clean-up, added a couple of newbies and are preparing to step back into the spotlight. Welcoming them back is our very own ‘Prince Of Parp’:

Read more...
 
The Jesus Ponies - 'Conditional Love Casino' (Self-Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Ben Hughes   
Monday, 12 June 2017 04:30

The Jesus PoniesThe debut album from Arizona duo Ben Hall and Byron Carrick had been lying around Ben Hughes’ gaff for a while, until the untimely death of Chris Cornell prompted him to take it out of its cover, slip it into his battered stereo system and explore its rich grunginess. Click the link to find out why this mysterious twosome are no Bible-bashin’ one trick pony:

Read more...
 
Rancid – ‘Trouble Maker’ (Epitaph Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Dom Daley   
Friday, 09 June 2017 04:30

Rancid artworkThe much-anticipated new album from Rancid hits the streets today. A few songs were put out as appetizers for the masses… to a resounding flatline from a lot of fans - so it was with bated breath that Dom Daley dropped the needle into the groove and turned up the volume. Did they get him into audio trouble? Click the link to find out:

Read more...
 
Wednesday 13 – ‘Condolences’ (Nuclear Blast) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Dave Prince   
Thursday, 08 June 2017 04:30

Wednesday 13 - Condolences - ArtworkIt may be approaching summer, but that hasn’t stopped horror rock maestro Wednesday 13 returning to his ghoulish best with a brand new album which, by and large, sees him moving away from his comic book roots and in an altogether darker and heavier direction. Click the link for our man Dave Prince’s explanation of what is going on with his latter splatter (sic):

Read more...
 
Dickey Betts & The Great Southern – ‘Southern Rock Jam’/The Allman Brothers Band – ‘Hell & High Water: The Best Of The Arista Years’ (Retroworld) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Mark Ashby   
Wednesday, 07 June 2017 04:30

R-9358308-1479204745-4201Although planned for some time (the CDs arrived at URHQ a couple of days beforehand), the re-issue of these two compilations could not be more timely, coming as they do in the wake of the death of Gregg Allman, who departed this mortal coil at the end of last month. It is perhaps inevitable, therefore, that this pair of releases will become important historical documents, as Mark Ashby explains:

Read more...
 
Alter Bridge/Red Sun Rising – Belfast, Ulster Hall – 21 June 2017 Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Mark Ashby and The Dark Queen   
Saturday, 24 June 2017 05:00

Alter Bridge - BelfastIt had been a long time since Über bosses Monk and DQ had rock ‘n’ rolled in the historic Ulster Hall, one of the most iconic venues on these isles… and we know the head honcho will do almost anything for his beloved other half. So, when it was announced that Alter Bridge were playing their only UK headline show of this current run in their home city, there was only one thing the man with the plan could do:

Read more...
 
Banditos - 'Visionland' (Bloodshot Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Ben Hughes   
Thursday, 22 June 2017 04:00

Banditos artworkBanditos look like the sorta band our man Ben Hughes could easily sit down and have a drink with, and equally one with whom he could do a dodgy deal or two. More importantly, they sound like the real deal in rock 'n' roll terms. Click the link to find out how Bennyman got enraptured by the their down-home brand of countrified, honky tonkin’ psychedelic pink ‘n’ soul:

Read more...
 
Tainted Lady – ‘How The Mighty Have Fallen’ (Mighty Music) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Mark Ashby   
Tuesday, 20 June 2017 04:11

Tainted Lady artworkIt’s very rarely that a band, and an album, come along, stand toe-to-toe, nose-to-nose with you, curl their collective lips into a defiant snarl, look you straight in the eye and then spit a defiant statement right in your face. Tainted Lady and their debut album are just such a combination, as Mark Ashby found when he stepped into the ring to confront both head on:

Read more...
 
Iced Earth – ‘Incorruptible’ (Century Media) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Marc Leach   
Monday, 19 June 2017 04:12

Iced Earth - IncorruptibleUS metal titans Iced Earth have just released their 12th studio album – an achievement which in itself is a testament to their determination and longevity. But, would our resident shredder Marc Leach fall for the charms of the ‘Seven Headed Whore’, or would he be overwhelmed by the ‘Great Heathen Horde’, forcing him to wave the ‘Black Flag’? Click the link to find out:

Read more...
 
EZoo – ‘Feeding The Beast’ (earMUSIC) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Mark Ashby   
Thursday, 15 June 2017 04:00

ezoofeedingcdEzoo is a “new” project from legendary vocalist Graham Bonnet and Italian guitarist Dario Mollo which actually traces its roots back more than 15 years. Now that the duo have finally got their act together, Über boss Mark Ashby reckons that it has been more than worth the wait and that the singer from Skegness still has what it takes to be called The Voice… Click the link to find out why:

Read more...
 
Shanda & The Howlers - ‘Trouble’ (Rum Bar Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gerald Stansbury   
Tuesday, 13 June 2017 04:00

Shanda coverThere are some record labels which have developed a strong enough track record that we at Über Rock are compelled to check out their new releases, even if our highly knowledgeable team have never heard of the band. Rum Bar Records has established that reputation, as our man Stateside found out when we fired the label’s latest little rock ‘n’ roll salvo his way:

Read more...
 
Scout Killers - ‘Deception’ EP (Self-Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gerald Stansbury   
Monday, 12 June 2017 04:00

Scout Killers artworkOne of the joys of writing for a website with the underground philosophy that we at Über Rock possess is constantly discovering new bands and music to which you haven’t previously been exposed. And it was a joy which our man Stateside shared when we dispatched the trusty UR carrier pigeon across the Atlantic with this forthcoming little bundle of musical pleasure:

Read more...
 
Dan Baird and Homemade Sin - ‘Rollercoaster’ (JCPL Music) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gerald Stansbury   
Friday, 09 June 2017 04:00

rollercoaster-300x300In the final part of a trilogy of articles – following on from his review of Dan Baird’s recent solo album and then his extensive interview with the man himself – our man Stateside takes the midnight train to Georgie once again, with his soundtrack provided by the brand new album from Homemade Sin. Click the link to join the ride:

Read more...
 
Adrenaline Mob – ‘We The People’ (Century Media) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Dave Prince   
Thursday, 08 June 2017 04:00

Adrenaline Mob - WTP coverReturning after another of his short breaks, Dave Prince catches up with a band who have evaded his gaze until now – the revolving door “super group” that is Adrenaline Mob? Was it worth waiting until their third album to find out what all the fuss is about? Click the link to find out what our man thought:

Read more...
 
Big Kizz - ‘Eye On You’ (TeePee Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gerald Stansbury   
Wednesday, 07 June 2017 04:00

Big Kizz logoOur man Stateside is going to be keeping an eye out for the debut full-lengther by a new Swedish rock ‘n’ roll trio whose members are best known for their doom and psyche pedigrees, having had his appetite whetted by this three track taster… however, he’ll no doubt be hoping that the sound mix is a bit more sympathetic to his ears:

Read more...
 
«StartPrevNextEnd»

Page 1 of 201