June CD
Suffocation – ‘…Of The Dark Light’ (Nuclear Blast) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Jonni D   
Friday, 30 June 2017 04:30

Suffocation artworkFor more than 25 years, Suffocation have been part of the bedrock of the extreme metal movement: often imitated but rarely matched, the band has been hugely influential in developing the New York death metal sound. However, with their last album having been a “fine example of just how devastating Suffocation 2.0 could be”, Jonni D reckons that their latest offering is anaemic in comparison. Click the link to find out why he thinks that, in 2017, the band are playing it safe:

Read more...
 
Chazz Valentine – ‘Generation Y’ (Filthy Lucre Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Allan Maxwell   
Friday, 30 June 2017 04:00

Chazz Valentine - Gen YÜber Rock’s latest recruit Allan Maxwell reckons that the only thing which has so far held Chazz Valentine back from being a global phenomenon is that fact that he’s from New Zealand. But, having been a stalwart of the punk scene in the land of the All Blacks, things could be about to change, if his debut solo album is anything to go by:

Read more...
 
Bullets And Octane - 'Waking Up Dead' (Self-Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Ben Hughes   
Thursday, 29 June 2017 04:00

Bullets And OctaneHaving had the fireball that was Bullets And Octane explode into his life a little more than a decade ago, and then disappear again just as quickly, the reviewer known as Bennyman was more than delighted to find out that not only had Bullets And Octane had re-appeared from out of nowhere with a new album that shows they’ve lost none of their fuck you attitude or lust for rock ‘n’ roll:

Read more...
 
Baz Francis – ‘Trainwrecks In the Desert/Giza 2017’ (Magic Cat Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Dom Daley   
Wednesday, 28 June 2017 04:00

Baz Trainwrecks artworkOver the past month or so, Magic Eight Ball frontman Baz Francis has been documenting his solo jaunts, which have taken him from England to Turkey to Finland to Egypt (and a few other places in between), with his exclusive Über Rock tour diary… Along the way, he recorded his debut live solo album – in the shadows of the Great Pyramids! Dom Daley felt duty bound to check it out:

Read more...
 
Knocksville - ‘Volume 2’ (Self-Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Martin Haslam   
Tuesday, 27 June 2017 04:00

Knocksville artworkFancy yourself some “blues infested punkabilly” this fine summer day? Oh, go on… you know you do! And, if you do, then don’t hesitate to click this here link to find out why Martin Haslam reckons you should be taking yourself down Brighton way to do just that:

Read more...
 
Orden Ogan - ‘Gunmen’ (AFM Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gerald Stansbury   
Monday, 26 June 2017 04:00

Orden Ogan artworkOrden Ogan are a German power metal band who both claim not to be a power metal band and have been on and off Über Rock’s radar for the past few years… but, they haven’t crossed that of our self-confessed Helloween fan, Gerald Stansbury, as so he came with a pair of fresh ears to their imminently released fourth studio album. Click the link to find out if these particular gunmen hit the target or left our Texan Ranger wanting to shoot himself:

Read more...
 
Banditos - 'Visionland' (Bloodshot Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Ben Hughes   
Thursday, 22 June 2017 04:00

Banditos artworkBanditos look like the sorta band our man Ben Hughes could easily sit down and have a drink with, and equally one with whom he could do a dodgy deal or two. More importantly, they sound like the real deal in rock 'n' roll terms. Click the link to find out how Bennyman got enraptured by the their down-home brand of countrified, honky tonkin’ psychedelic pink ‘n’ soul:

Read more...
 
Tainted Lady – ‘How The Mighty Have Fallen’ (Mighty Music) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Mark Ashby   
Tuesday, 20 June 2017 04:11

Tainted Lady artworkIt’s very rarely that a band, and an album, come along, stand toe-to-toe, nose-to-nose with you, curl their collective lips into a defiant snarl, look you straight in the eye and then spit a defiant statement right in your face. Tainted Lady and their debut album are just such a combination, as Mark Ashby found when he stepped into the ring to confront both head on:

Read more...
 
Iced Earth – ‘Incorruptible’ (Century Media) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Marc Leach   
Monday, 19 June 2017 04:12

Iced Earth - IncorruptibleUS metal titans Iced Earth have just released their 12th studio album – an achievement which in itself is a testament to their determination and longevity. But, would our resident shredder Marc Leach fall for the charms of the ‘Seven Headed Whore’, or would he be overwhelmed by the ‘Great Heathen Horde’, forcing him to wave the ‘Black Flag’? Click the link to find out:

Read more...
 
EZoo – ‘Feeding The Beast’ (earMUSIC) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Mark Ashby   
Thursday, 15 June 2017 04:00

ezoofeedingcdEzoo is a “new” project from legendary vocalist Graham Bonnet and Italian guitarist Dario Mollo which actually traces its roots back more than 15 years. Now that the duo have finally got their act together, Über boss Mark Ashby reckons that it has been more than worth the wait and that the singer from Skegness still has what it takes to be called The Voice… Click the link to find out why:

Read more...
 
Shanda & The Howlers - ‘Trouble’ (Rum Bar Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gerald Stansbury   
Tuesday, 13 June 2017 04:00

Shanda coverThere are some record labels which have developed a strong enough track record that we at Über Rock are compelled to check out their new releases, even if our highly knowledgeable team have never heard of the band. Rum Bar Records has established that reputation, as our man Stateside found out when we fired the label’s latest little rock ‘n’ roll salvo his way:

Read more...
 
Starsick System – ‘Lies, Hope And Other Stories’ (Pride And Joy) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by David O'Neill   
Thursday, 29 June 2017 04:30

Starsick System artworkThe second album from Italian hard rockers grabbed our attention as soon as it landed on the mat here at URHQ. Why? Because it contains a cover of Chris Cornell’s ‘You Know My Name’, and it arrived just hours before the singer’s death was announced… We tasked David O’Neill with telling the story of the release as a whole:

Read more...
 
Vallenfyre – ‘Fear Those Who Fear Him’ (Century Media) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Jonni D   
Wednesday, 28 June 2017 04:30

Vallenfyre artworkOriginally founded as a one-off side project through which Paradise Lost guitarist Gregor Mackintosh paid tribute to his late father, Vallenfyre have now progressed to album number three, which our man Jonni D reckons not only is “the perfect culmination of the band’s work so far” but also one of the most streamlined – and fun – extreme metal releases of 2017. Click the link to find out more:

Read more...
 
Tio Rico – ‘Business And Pleasure’ (Horn And Hoof Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Dom Daley   
Tuesday, 27 June 2017 04:30

Tio Rico coverReviewing hot new releases may be Dom Daley’s business, but it’s almost always a pleasure for him to do so and share the results with Uber Rock’s readers… he didn’t hesitate to once again combine both when this little five-tracker winged its way onto his stereo system and into his ears:

Read more...
 
Michael Monroe – ‘XXX: The Best’ (Spinefarm/Universal Music Group) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Dom Daley   
Monday, 26 June 2017 04:30

Michael Monroe XXXapproved small 2013There’s not much more you can say about the most suitably named compilation album to be released so far… except maybe to explain why this 29-track conglomeration really does represent ‘The Best’ of Michael Monroe’s post-Hanoi career. And who else would we ask to proffer that explanation than or very own rock ‘n’ roll bloodhound, Mr Dom Daley?

Read more...
 
Cheap Trick - ‘We’re All Alright’ (Big Machine Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gerald Stansbury   
Friday, 23 June 2017 04:30

Cheap Trick - WAA artworkapproved small 2013Forty years since they released their self-titled debut album, Cheap Trick – regarded as one of the most eccentric and innovative, never minding enduring, hard rock bands of their generation – have emerged from the studio once again to present us with their 18th studio album. Our man Gerald Stansbury reckons it’s a wee bit more than alright, as he heaps copious praise on the opus and recommends that you rush out and get a copy post haste – but not until you’ve clicked the link to find out why:

 

Read more...
 
42 Decibel – ‘Overloaded’ (Steamhammer/SPV) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Phil Cooper   
Wednesday, 21 June 2017 04:00

42 Decibel artworkIt’s only rock ‘n’ roll mofos, but we love, love, love it… especially when it’s turned up LOUD! And, as Phil Cooper discovered when he twisted his volume button as far as it would go, it doesn’t come much louder than this quartet of rockin’ ‘n’ rollin’ reprobates from down South America way… click the link to find out why our man is simply overloaded on guitar driven anthems and his headbangin’ till his ears pop:

Read more...
 
Valor – ‘Arrogance The Fall’ (Pitch Black Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Phil Cooper   
Monday, 19 June 2017 04:52

Valor artworkThey say that pride comes before a fall. Well, in the case of Greek power metallers Valor, it is arrogance which causes that effect, as they set out to prove on their third, just-released long-player. Our man sent into battle on this one was the more than capable Phil Cooper. Click the link to find out if he was left in a bleeding heap after leaping from a cliff face, or did he triumph over the adversity of mediocrity:

Read more...
 
Status Quo – ‘Blue For You’/’Just Supposin’/’Never Too Late’ Deluxe Editions (UMC) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Mark Ashby   
Saturday, 17 June 2017 04:00

Quo - Blue For YouAre Status Quo coming to the logical end of their career? While no official announcement has been made about the future of the band of which Francis Rossi remains the only founder member, following the death of his lifelong partner in music and friendship Rick Parfitt, it is a debate that is enervating fans… but one that is for another day here on Über Rock. In the meantime, deluxe editions of a trio of albums from what could be argued to be the band’s commercial and creative heyday have just been issued. Mark Ashby sat down for a marathon seven-disc listening session:

Read more...
 
Radioux City – ‘Soul Survivor’ (AOR Blvd Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Dave Prince   
Wednesday, 14 June 2017 04:00

Radioux City artwork‘Soul Survivor’ is an apt title for this long-lost set of recordings from the then ill-fated Radioux City. Some 25 years after the band found that the time wasn’t quite right for their brand of groove/soul metal, they’ve dusted off the recordings, given them a clean-up, added a couple of newbies and are preparing to step back into the spotlight. Welcoming them back is our very own ‘Prince Of Parp’:

Read more...
 
The Jesus Ponies - 'Conditional Love Casino' (Self-Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Ben Hughes   
Monday, 12 June 2017 04:30

The Jesus PoniesThe debut album from Arizona duo Ben Hall and Byron Carrick had been lying around Ben Hughes’ gaff for a while, until the untimely death of Chris Cornell prompted him to take it out of its cover, slip it into his battered stereo system and explore its rich grunginess. Click the link to find out why this mysterious twosome are no Bible-bashin’ one trick pony:

Read more...
 
«StartPrevNextEnd»

Page 1 of 28