July CD
Wintersun – ‘The Forest Seasons’ (Nuclear Blast) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Marc Leach   
Friday, 28 July 2017 04:30

Wintersun - The Forest Seasons artworkDespite having only four tracks – or perhaps we should more accurately describe them as movements – the new album from Wintersun is truly epic in scale, being as it is loosely based around ‘The Four Seasons’ but transforming the orchestral piece into a suitably overblown rock opera experience. UR’s resident shredder, Marc Leach, went for a little wander in the woods to explore the work for himself and delivers his verdict on the other side of the link:

Read more...
 
In This Moment – ‘Ritual’ (Roadrunner Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Jonni D   
Friday, 28 July 2017 04:00

In This Moment - RitualLA metalcore troupe In This moment had been hinting that they would be experimenting with a more stripped back sound on their new album, form the heavily electronic approach of previous releases.  Has the experiment worked? Or has the mad scientist blown up the laboratory? Click the link as our man Jonni D delivers his verdict:

Read more...
 
Fractions – ‘Forces ‘ EP (Self-Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by David O'Neill   
Thursday, 27 July 2017 04:00

Fractions artworkHaving recently rediscovered his love of music, David O’Neill readily admits that metalcore is not a genre with which he’s overly enamoured (join the club – Ed), but he also confesses to developing an appreciation for the musicianship of some of the bands involved, as he elaborates in this review of the six-track debut EP from this mathematically inclined combo:

Read more...
 
Piss Viper – ‘Pick Clean My Bones’ (Self-Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by David O'Neill   
Tuesday, 25 July 2017 04:30

Piss Viper Pick artapproved small 2013At Über Rock, we receive many albums through various channels, be they traditional snail mail (yes, stuff still gets sent in the post) or via fancy-dancy hyperlink thingmajiggies… but, David O’Neill was somewhat surprised when this new EP was sent to him over Facebook! Well, whatever it takes, eh? But, are these snakes taking the pee, or did they indeed pick our reviewer’s bones clean?

Read more...
 
Shaman’s Harvest – ‘Red Hands Black Deeds’ (Mascot Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Dave Prince   
Monday, 24 July 2017 04:30

Shamans HarvestSeven albums into their career, Shaman's Harvest are still managing to sound fresh, progressive and, above all, like they’re still having fun – which Dave Prince reckons is one of the most important ingredients any band possess but few do. Click the link to find out more:

Read more...
 
EXTENDED PLAY: Bite-Sized Morsels Of Musical Mayhem Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Mark Ashby and Dave Prince   
Saturday, 22 July 2017 04:00

Black Cat Bones Cover ArtworkIt’s been a while since we’ve had a collection of EPs delivered to Über Rock HQ which is diverse and as eclectic as the batch we have chosen for this latest celebration of the short form format… so, whether your taste is for classic rock, NWOBHM, grindcore, pop punk or blackened death metal, crack open a beer and click the link to see what tickles your fancy:

Read more...
 
Rabid Bitch Of The North – ‘Nothing But A Bitter Taste’ (Hostile Media) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by David O'Neill   
Friday, 21 July 2017 04:00

RBOTN artworkThey may not be bitches, but they’re definitely rabid and from the north… RBOTN have been championed by UR’s management team for a while now – hell, we even shared a tour van with them for an hysterical 400-mile round trip to a gig last year!  Now, after years of releasing demos and EPs, they have their first “proper” album on the way, and a short run of gigs following later in the year, one of which David O’Neill volunteered to cover on our behalf… but did it leave a bitter metallic taste in his mouth?

Read more...
 
Kenny Wayne Shepherd – ‘Lay It On Down’ (Provogue/Mascot Label Group) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Phil Cooper   
Thursday, 20 July 2017 04:00

KWS - Lay It On DownWith an array of awards and accolades under his belt, Kenny Wayne Shepherd has delivered another round of his southern-honed blues with ‘Lay It On Down’ his eighth solo album.  But, does it do that as far as our man from the deep south of the good ol’ Uber Kingdom of Rock is concerned?  There’s only one way to find out and that’s by clicking the link:

Read more...
 
Diamond Head - ‘Death and Progress’/‘Evil Live’ (Dissonance) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gerald Stansbury   
Wednesday, 19 July 2017 04:00

Diamond Head - Death And ProgressGerald Stansbury jumps into his heavy metal time machine and travels back to the days when cassettes were the preferred medium for many fans, and especially for those who wanted to listen to their music on the move.  Now, it the days of iPods and Spofity playlists, he revisits two classic re-issues from one of the bands who not only defined the NWOBHM sound but also have remained on the era’s most creative and relevant forces:

Read more...
 
Silverstein – ‘Dead Reflection’ (Rise Records/New Damage Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Jonni D   
Monday, 17 July 2017 04:30

Silverstein coverapproved small 2013Ontario’s Silverstein have been a reliable fixture of the emo/post-hardcore scene, retaining a creative vitality while many of their contemporaries have faded into obscurity.  Does their new album see them continuing to move forward and break new ground, or is it a reflection of a dead sub-genre?  Click the link to find out Jonni D’s verdict:

Read more...
 
Tuesday The Sky – ‘Drift’ (InsideOut Music) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Mark Ashby   
Friday, 14 July 2017 04:00

Tuesday The Sky artworkTuesday The Sky is the latest project from Fates Warning guitarist Jim Matheos, which found its gestation in the downtime between the completion of the band’s last album, ‘Theories Of Flight’, and the subsequent touring cycle. It’s ten tracks of ambient instrumental prog – no, not quite what our Mark Ashby expected either… but did he drift along on its vibes, or did he drift off to sleep? Click the link to find out:

Read more...
 
Rex Brown – ‘Smoke On This...’ (Steamhammer/SPV) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Mark Ashby   
Thursday, 27 July 2017 04:30

Rex Brown coverapproved small 2013Life is full of preconceptions and pre-conceived ideas and judgements. So, when you hear that the guy who was responsible for producing some of the heaviest bass lines ever laid down, as the man behind the genre-defining sound of Pantera, and then went on to do something similar with the NOLA epitomizers Down, is about to release a solo album then you might think you know what to expect. Right? Wrong! Completely fucking wrong, mofos, as Mark Ashby explains:

Read more...
 
Dierdre - 'I've Come to Life' (Self-Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gerald Stansbury   
Wednesday, 26 July 2017 04:00

Dierdre-Ive-Come-To-Life-2017Over the course of the past year or so, Arizona songstress Dierdre has been slowly revealing this, her debut album, by releasing it one song at a time… so, what happens when you take this collection of individual releases and wrap it all up into one complete collection? Is it less or more than the sum of its part? Click the link, as our man Gerald Stansbury has the answer:

Read more...
 
Stass – ‘The Darkside’ (Mighty Music) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Phil Cooper   
Tuesday, 25 July 2017 04:00

Stass - The DarksideStass is new project featuring Crematory vocalist Felix Stass and Paganizer guitarist Rogga Johansson, who are seeking to convert metal fans the world over to ‘The Darkside’ with their debut album of the same name… Have they succeeded? Click the link to find out what our man Phil C thinks:

Read more...
 
Vital Breath – ‘Angels Of Light’ (Mighty Music/Target Group) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Phil Cooper   
Monday, 24 July 2017 04:00

Vital Breath artwork‘Angels Of Light’ is the second album from these French metallians:  but, are they torch-bearers from the genre, shining light into the darkest corners of musical mediocrity, or did it leave Phil C gasping for that vital last breath needed to provide final satisfaction? Click the link to find out:

Read more...
 
GospelbeacH – ‘Another Summer Of Love’ (Alive Naturalsound Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Jerry Kornelius   
Friday, 21 July 2017 04:30

Gospelbeach Another SummerWith so many artists reacting to the state of the world by venting anger and spleen and raging against the machine, our man Jerry K reckons that we sometimes just need a bit of chilled-out summer escapism, which helps you to kick back and dream about better days.  And, in this new project from Brent Rademaker, he reckons he might just have found your soundtrack:

Read more...
 
Ed Stones & The BD3 - 'Overdosed On Hate' EP (Self-Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Ben Hughes   
Thursday, 20 July 2017 04:30

Ed Stones artworkapproved small 2013While our man Ben Hughes may bemoan the fact that the new EP from “Bradford's very own Peaky Blinders” is only available via digital download and limited edition cassette, he can’t argue on the quality of the politically-charged rock ‘n’ roll it contains and the value for money it represents.  No doubt he’ll have the mp3 on repeat play until the buggers can afford to issue it on CD:

Read more...
 
Kaz Hawkins (featuring Sam York) – ‘Don’t You Know’ (Self-Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by The Dark Queen   
Wednesday, 19 July 2017 05:00

Kaz Hawkins Dont You Knowapproved small 2013Music at its best is personal, reflecting the good times and the bad times we all enjoy and endure in life.  With her new album, Belfast blues singer Kaz Hawkins has stripped everything back, to just her voice and a piano, for what is her most personal album to date… it’s an album which reached out of the singer’s soul and into that of our very own queen of darkness, as herself now explains:

Read more...
 
Dave Ronald - So Alive (Self-Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Marc Leach   
Tuesday, 18 July 2017 04:30

Dave-Ronald-So-Alive-2017Here at Über Rock, we like to throw our writers the occasional curve ball; give them something completely out of the blue, by an artist with whom they’re totally unfamiliar. So, when Marc Leach called into URHQ the other weekend, we did exactly that, handing him a shiny new copy of the third album from Canadian singer-songwriter Dave Ronald. Click the link to find out what he made of this diverse offering:

Read more...
 
Stereo Nasty – ‘Twisting The Blade’ (Self-Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Marc Leach   
Monday, 17 July 2017 04:00

Stereo Nasty - Twisting The Bladeapproved small 2013Something very nasty has been oozing from the speakers of Marc Leach’s stereo over the few week, and twisting a blade into his cerebral cortex with a collection of infections heavy metal songs delivered straight from the heart of the Emerald Isle.  Click the link to find out more about this second album from one of the best bands Ireland has produced in recent years:

Read more...
 
Love Zombies - 'Passionfruit' (Self-Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Ben Hughes   
Thursday, 13 July 2017 04:30

Love Zombies Passionfruitapproved small 2013Putting the debut long player from Love Zombies in the hands of a Ginger Wildheart fan would be a pretty risky prospect, wouldn’t you think? After all, the tale of Hollis'sudden departure from the ranks of Hey! Hello!, on the eve of the release of the band’s second album, is widely known. But, hey, we like to live on the edge here at Über Rock, so what did we do? Yup, we shared the love with our #1 GW fan:

Read more...
 
«StartPrevNextEnd»

Page 1 of 26