Black Star Riders' DAMON JOHNSON to release five-track solo EP, 'Echo', in May PDF Print E-mail
Written by Gaz E   
Thursday, 31 March 2016 15:47



DAMON JOHNSON (Black Star Riders, Thin Lizzy, Alice Cooper, Brother Cane) will release his first solo electric project with the 'Echo' EP to be released in May 2016.
Recorded throughout 2015, the five-track EP sees Johnson taking the lead with vocals, guitars and other instruments alongside drummer Jarred Pope and bassist Tony Nagy, and is the perfect showcase for Johnson's songwriting and guitar playing. Big riffs sit alongside driving rhythms and the instant melodies.
'Echo' was produced and mixed by Nick Raskulinecz - whose credits includes Rush, Alice In Chains and Foo Fighters - at Rock Falcon Studio in Nashville. Johnson says: "We worked together on Black Star Riders' 'Killer Instinct' album. A few weeks later Nick asked me if I had any solo songs I wanted to record and we were off and running. His contribution to 'Echo' is immense. I'm very proud to share this music with the world."


The EP tracklisting as follows:


1.) Dead
2.) Nobody Usin'
3.) The Waiting Kills Me
4.) Scars
5.) Just Move On
Damon Johnson has a rich history as a rock guitarist. The Georgia, USA native first came to prominence with his band Brother Cane before moving on to play guitars for Alice Cooper and contributing songs to the likes of Stevie Nicks, Ted Nugent, Skid Row, Queensryche and Carlos Santana. Damon left Alice Cooper to play alongside the legendary Scott Gorham in Thin Lizzy (the band is playing a series of shows in 2016). Most recently Damon has been a founding member and songwriter with the critically acclaimed Black Star Riders. The 'Echo' EP is the next step of his rich musical pedigree.


Last Updated on Thursday, 31 March 2016 15:50