Über Röck Review Of 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Gaz E   
Thursday, 24 December 2009 22:04

The Official ÜBER RÖCK Review Of 2009 - how awesome does that sound? This time last year a website that finally put our thinking into practice seemed a long way off for me and Johnny H. But then a few of months full of mutual hatred for the ignorant spurred us on to do what we had threatened for some time.......and Über Röck was born. Now, some million hits later, we have the chance to look back at the year of our online creation.

 

I asked all of the main men in the ÜR massive to educate the masses with their picks of the year gone by - some will thrill you, some will upset you. That's what makes all this stuff worthwhile though, eh? Challenging the norm, questioning authority, fighting the forces of musical mediocrity.......

 

Don't agree with the choices of these badass literary giants? Then head on over to the Über Röck Söldiers Forum and tell them where they went wrong......

 

 

 

Gaz E.kiss_tshirt_new

 

ALBUMS OF THE YEAR

 

Some of the most influential figures in my rock 'n' roll life - New York Dolls, Ace Frehley, Kiss - released new albums in '09 and didn't even get a sniff of my top ten - that's how good a year it has been for music. A year, incidentally, when ginger frontmen dominated the upper reaches of my favourite albums list. I convinced myself that the album that took me by surprise was always gonna win my 'Album Of The Year' vote, purely because its main rival was by a band who we always expect to make the best record of any calender year. Then I just decided to give top spot to the album that made me smile the most in 2009.....

 

1.) The Wildhearts - 'Chutzpah'
2.) Gallows - 'Grey Britain'
3.) Sorry And The Sinatras - 'Highball Roller'
4.) The Chelsea Smiles - 'The Chelsea Smiles'
5.) Everclear - 'In A Different Light'
6.) The Used - 'Artwork'
7.) Rancid - 'Let The Dominoes Fall'
8.) Manic Street Preachers - 'Journal For Plague Lovers'
9.) Hate Gallery - 'Dead Celebrities'
10.) The Black Mollys - 'One Man's Treasure Is Another Man's Trash'

 


GIGS OF THE YEAR

 

Kory Clarke - Cardiff Arms, Hirwaun; One of those 'once in a lifetime' moments that will always niggle away at my funny bone for many reasons. Quite possibly the night that Über Röck was conceived...

 

Cancer Bats - Barfly, Cardiff; Another important piece of ÜR history. Apart from being right at the front watching one of the best bands on the planet, this was the night that me and Johnny told Darrel Sutton of our dream website plan and asked him to become involved. The name we decided on for the site that night was, trivia fans, 'Metal Kuntz' - can't understand how that one didn't stick!!!

 

Warrior Soul - Fleece, Bristol; Kory Clarke exorcising some demons for me in an awesome performance.

 

The Chelsea Smiles - O2 Academy, Birmingham; There to interview Todd Youth as the Smiles supported Wednesday 13 on his UK tour, me and Johnny were given the über-nerd treatment....and loved it! Awesome.

 

Misfits - TJ's, Newport; Read that again slowly - seminal act, legendary venue.....what was not to love?

 

(Please note - I wrote this before I saw The Wildhearts with The Loyalties and Antiproduct on December 21st in Wolverhampton. This would easily be one of my top gigs but I'll just tag it on here as a little extra!!)

 

 

FILM OF THE YEAR

 

Made in 2008 but given its UK release in '09, 'Let The Right One In' was a stunning example of how to make a vampire movie. Fans of that 'Twilight' shit take note.....

 


TV SHOW OF THE YEAR

 

Wow, where do I start? That black box in the corner of my room became my best friend with its shiny HD images. Even though the USTV execs (suckers of Satan's cock) did their best to kill the best shows on TV - R.I.P. 'My Name Is Earl' and 'Reaper' - there was a plethora of awesomeness out there in TV-land; 'Eastbound And Down', 'Flashforward', 'True Blood', 'The Thick Of It', 'Flight Of The Conchords', 'Being Human', 'Curb Your Enthusiasm' were among the greatest, but my vote goes to the bad boy that really tickled my geek bone, 'Fringe'

 


BOOK OF THE YEAR

 

'The Strain' by Guillermo Del Toro and Chuck Hogan; more vampires, more chance to show those 'Twilight' tweens that blood sucking doesn't have to be so damn cliched.....

 


ÜBER RÖCK APPROVED PERSONALITY OF 2009

 

Sunday morning. Raining. Heavily. Two idiots are out in some desolate place taking photographs. They partake in rock 'n' roll chatter regarding the "good old days" with a story about Tygers Of Pan Tang proving most chucklesome. One idiot tells the other that he should write these things down for a new website that he is planning. The other idiot asks "Does your missus know where to put commas and full stops and all that?" and a legend was born - SALUTE THE ZOOT!!!!!!!!

 


ÜBER RÖCK DISOWNED VILLAIN OF 2009

 

Blackie Lawless take a bow. Or at least mime doing it. Hypocritical Christian bullshit as an excuse for not playing 'Animal (Fuck Like A Beast)'; gigs cancelled at the last minute for "technical difficulties" that are basically egotistical hissy fits; staff at venues not allowed to look at him; full-on miming of songs that is ripping off every W.A.S.P. fan that buys a ticket to see this fake shit. How Christian are those lies, Blackie? How Christian are your pathetic antics on every tour? Further proof that Christianity is a fucking joke told by cunts.

 


BANDS TO WATCH IN 2010

 

Fell On Black Days and Lifer have the songs and attitude to crush skulls in 2010 - put these fuckers on a UK tour and cities will be levelled. Revoker spent the majority of 2009 with a bad band name but, with that sorted and an album awaiting release, watch these boys explode. The Defiled are special too; sound great and look awesome - expect bigger things. The Glitterati have experienced a rebirth of sorts and I expect their new album to be troubling our Best Album choices this time next year. Cars On Fire have a sniff of greatness. Finally, The Royal Highness - Über Röck has high hopes for the former members of The Chelsea Smiles.........

 

 

 


JOHNNY HHayward


ALBUMS OF THE YEAR

 

1.) The 69 Eyes - 'Back In Blood' ; Surprise of the year for me - huge stadium goth glam that will be everywhere in 2010. My album of the year by a long shot.
2.) Jarle Bernhoft - 'Ceramik City Chronicles' ; Ex-Span frontman does what he loves best. A really beautiful soul/rock album.
3.) Hate Gallery - 'Dead Celebrities' ; What more can I say about Hate Gallery? Every home should have this. Passionate and fucked off, just how I like my music.
4.) Bonafide - 'Something's Dripping' ; Classic rock played just how I like it. Whilst Airbourne will continue to dominate, these guys are more refined and actually a lot better.
5.) The Chelsea Smiles - 'The Chelsea Smiles' ; Soon to hit us in 2010 as The Royal Highness, this swansong from this great band is powerpop/glam punk perfection.
6.) Slayer - 'World Painted Blood' ; Just when you thought they couldn't sound any more angry, the masters return spitting blood. Priceless stuff.
7.) Scutty Neighbours - 'DE45' ; These nutters deserve to be huge in 2010, not least for having a song called 'Indie Cunts' - Imagine Turbonegro meets Skid Row.
8.) El Bronx - 'Mariachi El Bronx' ; The perfect summer holiday album from a bunch of hardcore punk rockers. Pure bliss....close your eyes, you're on a beach. Matt has never sounded happier.
9.) Gun - 'Popkiller' ; A late entry and one you should all go out and buy now. Only problem, it's only five tracks long - boooo. We want more.
10.) Candy Now - 'Candy Now' ; The Dwarves frontman goes solo and comes up with a lounge-core classic - plenty of melody and fun ahead of The Dwarves' 2010 return.

 


2009 has been a great year for music releases, from Rancid to SPiT LiKE THiS, from Outcry Collective to Them Crooked Vultures; Worldwide there have been albums of quality and depth released every month of this year so trying to put ten together was a nigh on impossible task. Anyway, for those I didn't mention, also check out Tyla, Mob Research, Jim Jones Revue and The Black Mollys.


 


GIGS OF THE YEAR

 

The Bronx / Fucked Up - Clwb Ifor Bach, Cardiff ; Just plain  fucking mental night and worth it for Sutton's rant about Rolo Tomassi to the students around him.

 

Gary Numan - Cardiff Millennium Music Hall ; I should have been watching Slayer that night, and never expected this to be quite so awesome.

 

Mott The Hoople - Monmouth Blake Theatre ; We were in a hall with about 500 others watching legends basically rehearse their comeback shows.  Doesn't get much better than this.

 

Killing Joke, Cancer Bats and Metallica at Sonisphere ; A great concept for a festival, still not sure about the venue though - let's see what 2010 brings.

 

AC/DC - Birmingham NEC ; Stadium rock n roll perfection delivered with ruthless efficiency by some old blokes...Fucking great stuff.....my neck ached for days after this.

 


Again, same as with the albums, trying to get this down to five is very difficult, I'm sticking with my original five here but Hard Rock Hell 3 really deserves a special mention as well; where else can you see three days of quality rock and metal for around £160 and still have time to meet loads of the best mates you never knew you had at a rock gig? Slugfest 2 this year was a real local success for one Darrel Sutton and this guy should be applauded for putting on free and low entry cost shows that earn loads of money for local charities. Hats off to both and more of the same in 2010 please.

 


FILM OF THE YEAR

 

'In The Loop' - Just for Jamie's "Humpty Numpty" rant.

 


TV SHOW OF THE YEAR

 

'The Inbetweeners' or 'The Thick Of It' - really can't seperate these for piss yourself laughing comedy.

 


BOOK OF THE YEAR

 

'Last Shop Standing' - Graham Jones ; a fascinating read into the death of UK record shops. A very funny and compelling read that any music fan should own even if you didn't work in an Our Price...like wot I did.


 

 
ÜBER RÖCK APPROVED PERSONALITY OF 2009

 

Todd Youth / Kory Clarke / Janne Jarvis /Toby and Joolz from Gun and The Glitterati...How can I separate them...each one was a legend.
 

 

ÜBER RÖCK DISOWNED VILLAIN OF 2009

 

Not going here - all I want is friends in 2010.

 

 

BANDS TO WATCH IN 2010

 

Bonafide and Hate Gallery initially spring to mind, both are hardworking bands writing some of the best music out there right now, and both embody what Über Röck is all about. In the UK I'd say Outcry Collective, Beholder, The Black Spiders, Scutty Neighbours and the loads of great bands coming out of South Wales like Fell on Black Days, Lifer and Spiridon etc.
And let's not forget our American friends The Royal Highness who I expect oodles of great music from in 2010.

 

 

 

DAVE PRINCE

 daveprince


ALBUMS OF THE YEAR

 

1.) Weezer - 'Raditude' ; one of the best bands in this world return!
2.) Orianthi - 'Believe' ; Awesome rock - reminiscent of Fiona/Lee Aaron with a bit of Avril Lavinge/Frankie Whyte.
3.) Bowling for Soup - 'Sorry for Partyin' ; The 'real' fun loving criminals return with another amazing set of tunes!
4.) The Donnas - 'Greatest Hits Vol 16' ; ok, it's a 'Best Of' but with many of the tunes being re-recorded it reminded me why I love them...
5.) The Black Mollys - 'One Man's Treasure Is Another Man's Trash' ; another 'Best Of' compilation but what a great introduction to one of the best bands around.
6.) Gunfire 76 - 'Casualties And Tragedies' ; A Glam/Cock Rock vision of Wednesday 13 - Oh Yes...
7.) Danger Danger - 'Revolve' ; This sees the return of Ted Poley with a stonking new album chock full of awesome tunes with screaming guitar and soaring melodies...
8.) Bleu - 'A Watched Pot' ; A great slice of power pop... Thanks to Über...
9.) Europe - 'Last Look At Eden' ; Oh, what another stonking return this is... the sound of this CD is immense! The songs are also amazing!
10.) Dashboard Confessional - 'Alter The Ending' ; after working with Butch Walker, Chris Carrabba returns with his best set of tunes and the acoustic disc is amazing!

 

 

GIGS OF THE YEAR

 

Butch Walker - 11/11/09

The Black Mollys - Rhondda Hotel, Porth 22/05/09

Bowling For Soup - Birmingham O2 Academy 22/10/09

Fall Out Boy / Hey Monday / Kids In Glass Houses - Cardiff International Arena 07/03/09

Counting Crows - Cardiff International Arena - 16/05/09

 


FILM OF THE YEAR

 

Not a great year for films but I loved 'Zombieland', so there you are......

 


TV SHOW OF THE YEAR

 

'FLASHFORWARD' or 'DOCTOR WHO'

 


BOOK OF THE YEAR

 

Either 'I Am What I Am' by John Barrowman or 'Eating The Dinosaur' by Chuck Klosterman.

 


ÜBER RÖCK APPROVED PERSONALITY OF 2009

 

Zoot

 


ÜBER RÖCK DISOWNED VILLAIN OF 2009

 

Zoot

 


BANDS TO WATCH IN 2010

 


Forever Vendetta - I'm interested to see what their next move is...; Vains of Jenna - their new one ROCKS! ; Dead Against The Rest - Hopefully Hard Rock Hell will see the band move up another rung on the ladder...; Let Loose - I'm really looking forward to seeing this band in a live setting with bass whore Rob 'Laney74' Lane in their ranks - How can they fail!? ; Peach Fuzz - A band with melodies and hooks to match the best of The Replacements/Paul Westenberg...

 

 
2010 will be the year where ROCK is changed forever

 

 

 

DARREL SUTTONSutton

 


ALBUMS OF THE YEAR

 

Here we go then, in stream of conciousness order;

 

Pretty Whores - 'Teens Of USA'
Bullet Ridden - 'Demo'
Every Time I Die - 'New Junk Aesthetic'
The Plight - 'Winds Of Osiris'
Ignitor - 'Spider Queen' (!!!!!)
Black Friday 29 - 'Black Friday 2009'
Napalm Death - 'Time Waits For No Slave'
Hatebreed - 'Hatebreed'
Asphyx - 'Death.... The Brutal Way'
The Ghost Of A Thousand - 'New Hopes, New Demonstrations'
 
 

GIGS OF THE YEAR


Slugfest 2 - Abertillery - what else?!!!
Testament/Onslaught  - O2 Academy, Oxford
The Bronx/Fucked Up - Clwb Ifor Bach, Cardiff
Only Fumes And Corpses/Les Christpunchers/The Demise - Sally Longs, Galway, Ireland - The day Jacko carced it.
Paint It Black - Le Pub, Newport

 

 

FILM OF THE YEAR


'Anvil The Movie'


 
TV SHOW OF THE YEAR


'My Name Is Earl'


 
BOOK OF THE YEAR


'Paranoia'  - Joseph Finder


 
ÜBER RÖCK APPROVED PERSONALITY OF 2009


Anyone who put on a gig or went to a gig.  It's what all this shit is about, for fuck's sake.


 
ÜBER RÖCK DISOWNED VILLAIN OF 2009


KISS - one very badly flogged dead horse.


 
BANDS TO WATCH IN 2010

Krokus
The Plight
Solutions
Pus (NOT!!!!)
 

 

 


RUSSELL PROTHEROruss


ALBUMS OF THE YEAR


Them Crooked Vultures - 'Them Crooked Vultures
The Mars Volta - 'Octahedron'
John Frusciante - 'The Empyrean'
Living Colour - 'The Chair In The Doorway'
Bleu - 'A Watched Pot'
The Wildhearts - 'Chutzpah'
John Sloman - 'Reclamation'
Cheap Trick - 'The Latest'
Jet - 'Shaka Rock'
The Parlor Mob - 'And You Were A Crow' 

 


Them Crooked Vultures début managed to wake a dead man. I don't get excited about hardly anything anymore but this album really got me going immediately I heard the opening bars of 'No Love Me & Neither Do I'. I must confess I was so taken with this album that I didn't even have to finish listening to the album before declaring it my favourite of the year. 

 

The Wildhearts came out with their best sounding album yet which was like a breath of fresh air - I've been waiting an age for a Wildhearts album like this and they've finally delivered. The Parlor Mob were totally new to me but I was really taken with them. Something about their straight un-funky riffing reminds me of the NWOBHM but they still manage to sound fresh and have a brilliant lead vocalist. Cheap Trick's album was by no means the best that they've ever recorded but, even below par, they still blow away the competition. John Sloman's 'Reclamation' sees him treading his own unique path with a set of lyrically personal acoustic songs which places him somewhere between Led Zeppelin and David Sylvian in his use of esoteric tones and unusual arrangements.

 

 


GIGS OF THE YEAR

 

Elbow - Newport, Leisure Centre - 12th March 2009

 

Forget top five gigs. I'm going straight to the main event. I like surprises and this gig was a massive one. Elbow are out on their own, treading their own path and, on the face of it, they shouldn't exist. They're not exciting, flamboyant or outspoken. And I love them for it. Live they are astounding. They're brilliantly rehearsed. The music is dynamic - at once dreamlike but just as likely to stab you in the ear with a shard of glass should you dare to feel so comfortable as to actually drift off to sleep.

 


FILM OF THE YEAR

 

'Telstar' -  Riveting biopic about 1960s record producer Joe Meek. This is the directorial début of Nick Moran who you may remember from Guy Ritchie's 'Lock, Stock And Two Smoking Barrels'. There's a similarity here with John Cameron Mitchell's 'Hedwig And The Angry Inch' as both films were made after stage productions. Con O'Neill played the energetic and troubled Joe Meek on the stage and reprises the role here and it shows. He's totally comfortable in the role and I was suitably impressed by this hitherto unknown actor. The film is pacey, funny, dramatic and tragic. Watch closely and you may even spot a young Ritchie Blackmore.  

 

TV SHOW OF THE YEAR

 

'Breaking Bad' - Season 2.  Drama about Walter White - a high school chemistry teacher who has been diagnosed with terminal lung cancer. Walter teams up with one of his ex-students in order to produce crystal meth in order to pay for his medical expenses and also to provide for his family when he's gone. Bryan Cranston - the dad from 'Malcolm In The Middle' - is superb in this breakout role which showcases his versatility. Not that this is an entirely sober dramatic role. We still get to see him running around in his underpants - something that you'd expect, nay demand, to see him doing in 'Malcolm In The Middle'. 

 

BOOK OF THE YEAR

 

'Mixing Audio: Concepts, Practices And Tools' by Roey Izhaki - Well, it may technically be a 2007 book but I'm only just reading it now and it's highly recommended reading if you're a musician or a budding sound engineer. This book really is essential reading and is something of an audio bible - a must have. What makes this book really special is the accompanying DVD full of audio samples which are referenced in the book and make up the listening examples to the concepts contained in the book. If your idea of reading over 60 pages just on compressors is your idea of heaven then this is the book for you. http://www.mixingaudio.com

 

ÜBER RÖCK APPROVED PERSONALITY OF 2009

 

Steven Tyler - Whilst not being an über Aerosmith fan I was shocked when I heard the rumours that Tyler had left the band. "This is impossible" I thought. It made about as much sense as Tommy Thayer and Eric Singer dressing up as Ace and Peter. And, whilst I rate modesty more highly than arrogance I couldn't help but approve of Tyler's glorious quote: "Joe Perry, you are a man of many colours. But I, motherfucker, am the rainbow!" 

 

ÜBER RÖCK DISOWNED VILLAIN OF 2009

 

Chris Cornell. Scream. Need I say more?   

 

BANDS TO WATCH IN 2010

 

Stone Temple Pilots. In the early 90s STP were much like any other grunge band of the era and, as such, they could've sank without a trace. Luckily they started experimenting and made every new album something to look forward to. Always more innovative than Velvet Revolver's run of the mill metal STP's return is eagerly awaiting and an album should be with us by Spring. Let's hope that Velvet Revolver hasn't eaten Weiland's soul and he can get back to making some seriously interesting music.

 

 


DAI WHISTANCEDai_W

 

 

ALBUMS OF THE YEAR

 

1.) The Wildhearts - 'Chutzpah'
2.) Manic Street Preachers - 'Journal For Plague Lovers'
3.) New York Dolls - 'Cause I Sez So'
4.) Gojira - 'The Way Of The Flesh'
5.) Megadeth - 'Endgame'
6.) Alice In Chains - 'Black Gives Way to Blue'
7.) Kiss - 'Sonic Boom'
8.) Mastodon - 'Crack The Skye'
9.) Wolf - 'Ravernous'
10.) Guilt Machine - 'On This Perfect Day'

 

GIGS OF THE YEAR

 

New York Dolls - 100 Club
The Damned - Spiegelsession Gloucester
Wolf -  Dudley JBs
The Killers - Cardiff CIA
The Specials - Cardiff CIA

 


FILM OF THE YEAR

 

'Flight 666'

 


TV SHOW OF THE YEAR

 

'Curb Your Enthusiasm'

 


BOOK OF THE YEAR

 

'Target' by Simon Kernick

 

 

ÜBER RÖCK PERSONALITY OF 2009

 

Sylvain Sylvain

 


ÜBER RÖCK DISOWNED VILLAIN OF 2009

 

Marilyn Manson

 


BANDS TO WATCH IN 2010

 

Dead Against The Rest; Fell On Black Days; The Sick Livers

 

 

 

MATT PHELPScymbal_crop

 

 

ALBUMS OF THE YEAR

 

1.) Place Vendome - 'Streets Of Fire'
2.) Hardcore Superstar - 'Beg For It'
3.) The Blackout - 'Best In Town' (oooh so close to filling my number 2 slot)
4.) 77 - '21st Century Rock'
5.) Rancid - 'Let The Dominoes Fall' (I prefer the acoustic disc though)
6.) Sunstorm - 'House Of Dreams'
7.) Europe - 'Last Look At Eden'
8.) Reel Big Fish - 'Fame, Fortune And Fornication' (a covers album yes but I love it)
9.) Ricky Warwick - 'Belfast Confetti'
10.) W.A.S.P - 'Babylon'

 

 

GIGS OF THE YEAR

 

Wolfsbane - Bristol Academy (by a westcountry mile, fantastic fucking bastards)

 

Metallica - NEC

 

Tyla - Plymouth Hippo (only 20ish people showed up, no queue for the bar and Stella on offer 3 for 2, I was well and truly "zooted". He asked for requests and played '...Heights Of Disgrace' for me while I drunkenly banged my bottles on the stage out of time and forgot half the words. He shook my hand and laughed at me. The guy is beyond legendary status. I was last seen singing 'Billy Two Rivers' down the toilet until nearly 4 in the morning. Never again, hic.

 

Alice Cooper - Plymouth Pavilions

 

AC/DC - Wembley Stadium

 

 
FILM OF THE YEAR

 

Best movie -  hmm, can't remember eveything I went to see so I suppose you could say I saw a lot of forgettable rubbish. The only TWO I remember really enjoying were 'Star Trek and 'District 9'. 'District 9' was frigging amazing even though I thought the first ten or twenty minutes were utter shit it and was preparing to walk out, stuck with it though and it blew me away. Absolutley brilliant. BUT... the end credits should have rolled up to the sound of Anti Nowhere League's 'Johannesburg'. They didn't, so five points deducted giving the award to 'Star Trek' by default.


 
TV SHOW OF THE YEAR

 

The Rocky Horror Show ;-)

 

 

BOOK OF THE YEAR


If you don't mind i'd like to vote for one that I haven't even read yet. I'm gettin' it in me Chrissymas stocking so i'm gonna unwrap that first as I'm really looking forward to reading it. Oh it's Jah Wobble - 'Memoirs Of A Geezer'

 

 

ÜBER RÖCK APPROVED PERSONALITY OF 2009

 

Annie Lobert for having a "ministry" called Hookers For Jesus and making an honest man of Stryper guitarist Oz 'Knoxy' Foxy. I know some people like to have a guiding light but a red one? Jesus! oops sorry. You can't make this shit up.

 


ÜBER RÖCK DISOWNED VILLAIN OF 2009

 

DANNY FUCKING BOWES FOR DEPRIVING THE WORLDWIDE ROCK LOVING PUBLIC OF HIS DULCET TONES AND STUNNING LIVE PERFORMANCES WITH SAID VOICE. BASTARD !!! Danny we love you, come back to us, we don't ask for much, just another 20 years, pleeease!!!

 

 

BANDS TO WATCH IN 2010

 

How the fuck would I know, that's why I read Über Röck! But I recently downloaded some free tracks by a punk band from Norway called Goldcrush. Ok, they apparently formed way back in 2000 but I hadn't heard of them before and I'd like to think that after nearly 10 years of grinding away the world will suddenly fall in love with them because their stuff, put simply, is fucking great.

 

http://www.goldcrush.no/index1.htm

 

 

 

 

DOM DALEYDom

 

 

ALBUMS OF THE YEAR

 

In no particular order......

 

The Wildhearts - 'Chutzpah' - Consistant and most excellent.

 

Sorry & The Sinatras - 'Highball Roller' - utter punk rock n roll with great tunes.

 

Hate Gallery - 'Dead Celebrities' - putting the bollocks back into rock, lovin it!

 

Panzer Princess - 'Oh No it's Panzer Princess' - some awesome tunes in the best Soho Roses, Hanoi Rocks kinda way and some of the best lines I've heard on a record for a long time, kudos to Panzer Princess.

 

Steve Conte & The Crazy Truth - 'Steve Conte & The Crazy Truth' - Stonkin' album, the crazy truth is you should own this rock n roll betch,  It's a cracker.

 

Tyla & The Dogs - 'Bloody Hellfire' - coz I love his work L-U-V and has some of the best songs he's written for many a year.

 

Bullets & Octane - 'Laughing In The Face Of Failure' - two for the price of one and some of their best work; an absolute cracker, fair play.

 

Dirty Strangers - 'West 12 To Wittering' - love it, pwopper rock n roll and one of the best parties you can have in the house on your own with some booze and a loud stereo \m/

 

Rancid - 'Let The Dominoes Fall' - package of the year no doubt about it and great tunes as well but where were the tour dates?

 

The Chelsea Smiles - 'The Chelsea Smiles' - Another of those much anticipated releses that I just knew wouldn't let me down and it didn't - proper low slung rock n roll with killer tunes.


 
Also 2009 was such a good year I found it difficult to peg this down to a top 10 as it might change from week to week with only a few really staying in a top 10. Also worth considering were releases by New York Dolls, The Living End, Sonic Youth, UFO, Placebo, 69 Eyes,  Jason Isbell and the 400 units, Crash Street Kids, The Quireboys, The Alarm, Ian Hunter, Jello Biafra, Bulletboys, Spit Like This, Dirty Penny, Blackhole, Gallows, The Bronx, Weezer, Mongrel, Sex n Violence, Street Sweeper Social Club, Miles Hunt,  AFI, The Four Horsemen, Charm City Devils, Dinosaur jr, Rachel Stamp, The Last Vegas, Drive By Truckers....on and on it could go, fair play - so many great releases we can argue over from here to next year when we can do it all again. All in all a ferkin stonker of a year music wise 

 


GIGS OF THE YEAR

 

HRH 3 - or more specifically New York Dolls, The Glitterati, Tigertailz, The Quireboys, Spit Like This  - has to be in there because I got to see 5 great acts doing their thing in less than 24 hours.

 

Green Day/ Prima Donna - LG Birmingham ; Green Day are still good value live even with the teletubbies 'ay oh' bits and Prima Donna are the next big thing!  Now lets hope they deliver that UK tour and a new album in 2010.

 

Bullets & Octane - Swansea -  one of the best frontmen who can sing, perform and write.  Gene has it all shame they only got an hour.

 

Mott The Hoople - Monmouth - an absolute pleasure to be so close to such legends,  goosebump performance of the year possibly.

 

Sorry & The Sinatras - Swansea - a bit like Bullets; an hour or so of rock out with Scott and the boys who took no prisoners and as Michael Monroe would say "Rock like fuck!"

 


Bubbling under would have to be The Chelsea Smiles in Bristol, New York Dolls in Bristol and Florida - would have put these in but three in the top 10 would be a bit stalkerish, wouldn't it? The Alarm Weekend in Norf Wales, Wildhearts in Bristol, The Living End, Miles Hunt at the Dolls House in 'Tillery, Motorhead/Damned, The Alarm/Damned double header, Love/Hate, Misfits and quite frankly about another 20 bands.  2009 was a cracking year for live music and South Wales was very active in putting on a lot of excellent bands - kudos to Vice and Sin City.

 

 

FILM OF THE YEAR

 

'The Hangover' or 'The Hunger'

 

 

TV SHOW OF THE YEAR

 

'Mock The Week' and 'Bear Grills' coz he's a coont

 


BOOK OF THE YEAR

 

'Belching Out The Devil' by Mark Thomas and 'I Doll - Life And Death In The New York Dolls' by Arthur 'Killer' Kane

 


ÜBER RÖCK APPROVED PERSONALITY OF 2009

 

So many great personalities in music at the moment, to pick just one is a toughie but I think it would have to go to Über's own Zoot for his finely executed use of the Queen's language when dishing up his memoirs; absolutely priceless so I salute the Zoot \m/


 

ÜBER RÖCK DISOWNED VILLAIN OF 2009

 

This one's easy and has to go to hard rock's über diva Blackie Lawless. For cancelling a show on the night for what is being rumoured to be pathetic reasons to lip syncing and refusing to play his best song at HRH and over running and generally being a chump.  Any other Villains will be kept private as revenge is a dish best served cold and they will keep ;-) also the car wheel clamper in Bristol after The Quireboys - at least Dick Turpin wore a mask - evil nasty man!

 


BANDS TO WATCH IN 2010

 

Again 2009 was such a great year in music and with a right glut of great bands currently active this list could go on as long as a prog rock solo section so I'll keep it brief; Todd Youth's The Royal Highness, Demolition 23 or whatever Mike Monroe is going to call it - I'm excited. Hate Gallery, Mongrel, Spit Like This, Prima Donna, Billy Hopeless and I'd like nothing more than a UK tour by The Dictators and The Dwarves pleas....and finally I'd like a band or two to pop up and rub shoulders with the big boys in 2010 and rock me socks off.  Rock 'n' roll on 2010.
 
 

Also, on a sad note, I salute fallen bands such as Soda Pop Kids, Tattooed Millionaires and The Black Halos who all fell in 2009 -  hopefully we'll see them all back in other projects in 2010; rock on bruvas and sisters. 2009 has really been a blast - double horns up \m/ \m/ and mucho big amps to 11 kudos to Gaz and J H-Bomb for being top rockers and such good fun and keeping it real in 2009 - here's to a massive 2010 and getting ÜR to the top of the Rock N Roll tree \m/ Respect \m/

 

 

 

 

FRASER MUNROFraser

 


ALBUMS OF THE YEAR


I've seemed to have missed out on a ton of new music this year. Every album I thought of for this list was out last year. Not to worry, here's the few I could come up with:

 

KISS - 'Sonic Boom' ; It was a long time coming but worth the wait.


Gunfire 76 - 'Casualties & Tragedies' ; Mr 13 reinvents himself again but most people didn't care.


New york Dolls - 'Coz I Sez So' ; Very patchy but it's a Dolls album so as such deserves respect.


Ace Frehley - 'Anomaly' ; Great rockers, pointless instrumentals and some comical ballads. A good album never the less.

 

 

GIGS OF THE YEAR

 

This year has been brilliant for the gig-goers amongst us. In no particular order, here's 10 highlights off the top of my head.

 


KISS & Buckcherry - Nassau Coliseum, New York; A fantastic double bill in a mega US arena. You cannot miss the 2010 tour Euro tour.

 

Wrathchild - The Asylum Bar, Birmingham; Great gig from Rocky and some other blokes. Bugger all people there but well worth the trip.

 

Anthrax - ULU, London ; Dan Nelson offered a real way forward for Anthrax which they've now blown. Time to give up now I think chaps.

 

Hardrock Hell III - Pontins Prestatyn;  From the film set of 'Holiday On The Buses', Tigertailz, New York Dolls, Ratt & WASP led the way for a kick ass weekend.

 

Supersuckers & Nashville Pussy - Thekla, Bristol ; 'Nuff said, Uber!

 

The Damned & The Alarm - Sin City, Swansea ; Two great bands, one great night out.

 

Billy Bragg - Miners Institute, Blackwood ; Billy's like Marmite, you love him or hate him but he's still one of Britain's greatest song writers.

 

Misfits - TJ's Newport ; The Misfits have been flogging this set list for a long time and need to move on with an album or a proper singer (c'mon Graves). A great gig none the less.

 

CJ Ramone - Sin City, Swansea ; Absolutely empty gig but fantastic to hear a Ramone singing Ramones songs.

 

Alice Cooper - Oasis Centre, Swindon ; So good they killed him three times during a set that really dug deep into an awesome back catalogue.

 


FILM OF THE YEAR

 

'Anvil - The Story Of Anvil' - You really feel for the band as they carelessly lumber along ever looking for the big break that will never come.

 

 

TV SHOW OF THE YEAR

 

Though I must confess to enjoying the American drivel dramas like 'NCIS' and 'FlashForward', I'd have to go for 'Modern Family'. Manny is king. That said, I thought Channel 4's 'Execution of Gary Glitter' was excellent.

 


BOOK OF THE YEAR

 

All I've read this year are stats books for work. No recommendations here then.

 

 

ÜBER RÖCK APPROVED PERSONALITY OF 2009

 

Captain Sensible, this year and every year. A true man of the people.

 

 

ÜBER RÖCK DISOWNED VILLAIN OF 2009

 

Bono, this year and every year. A true cunt.

 

 

BANDS TO WATCH IN 2010

 

I'm failing on this one. I've been shit this year when it comes to new bands. New year's resolution number one ............

 

 

 

 

JASON BAKERjasonbaker

 


ALBUMS OF THE YEAR

 

10.) 'World Painted Blood' by Slayer.
9.) 'Blue Record' by Baroness.
8.) 'Horehound' by The Dead Weather.
7.) 'Crack the Skye' by Mastodon.
6.) 'Brand New Eyes' by Paramore.
5.) 'Them Crooked Vultures' by Them Crooked Vultures.
4.) 'Sainthood' by Tegan & Sara.
3.) 'Cosmic Egg' by Wolfmother.
2.) 'Fantasies' by Metric.
1.) 'Sonic Boom' by KISS.

 


GIGS OF THE YEAR


Frankie Whyte & The Dead Idols with L.A. Guns @ The Reverb in Toronto, Canada Day (July 1st).

 

Scarlet Sins with Doll & Invermier @ Lee's Palace, August 22nd 2009.

 

CJ Sleez - December 11th
 


FILM OF THE YEAR


'Drag Me To Hell'

 

It is derivative of Mario Bava's work but so what? I like Bava.

 

TV SHOW OF THE YEAR

 
'V'  -  The re-imagined version of the 1980s sci-fi/horror series

 

BOOK OF THE YEAR
 

'Fall' by Colin McAdam. Coming of age classic should have won the Giller Prize but lost out due to the more understated quality of the social commentary found within its pages.
 


ÜBER RÖCK APPROVED PERSONALITY OF 2009

 

Chantal Kreviazuk - Performer, songwriter, humanitarian Chantal Kreviazuk has not slowed down in her various philanthropical activities one bit whilst raising three children with husband Raine Maida.

 

If more performers gave of themselves they might find not merely the good feeling that comes with it but a boost in their fortunes. It is called "Karma" and it is most powerful.


 
ÜBER RÖCK DISOWNED VILLAIN OF 2009


Sharon Osbourne for making the Black Sabbath reunion with Dio tour and release their album under the name "Heaven & Hell". 

 

How Ozzy's Mrs managed to finagle the trademark out from under the other original Sabbath members is not surprising given their track record of getting stymied by management.


 
But the lack of class in not letting them use the Sabbath name is poor sportsmanship. Sabbath continued without Ozzy and did so longer without him than with him.
 


BANDS TO WATCH IN 2010

 

Moeraes Fate; Mutiny Within; Monday Rose; Doll; Three Star Seed

 

 

 

MATT BLAKOUT - TIGERTAILZthe_fox

 


ALBUM OF THE YEAR


You know, I don't buy many cd's - I've probably bought a handful this year. It's basically due to me being so old school. The last 'new band' I got a cd of I think was Evanescence. I really liked their vibe as so did Katherine Jenkins, of course. I got the new Kiss cd which I thought was great but there were simply too many songs on it. Say what you will but I thought 'Psycho Circus' captured the spirit of Kiss better than 'Sonic Boom'. I'll probably go to see them as I have done every time they've toured, except when they did the tour in 96 after playing what was then Donnington; I was actually in America which is ironic. I really liked Ace Frehley's cd, some great songs on there that did capture the spirit of what Ace is, which makes you realise how much he contributed to those classic Kiss albums. I think Kiss understand they can do no wrong really as I couldn't wait to get my hands on 'The Elder' and every album since! So who's kidding who! The Ace album was great and it was a real honour to support him last year, a dream fulfilled and also to play with Kiss at Kobeta Sonic in Spain and to tell Gene that we were opening the Saturday for them is by far beyond my dreams.

 

Winger's cd was good though; despite what everyone said about it, I really couldn't see the return to melodic rock ala the first two cd's. I've actually started listening to the fourth cd they released two years ago that everyone has seemed to forgotten about as it probably sold poorly, but this is a really good cd, dark and full of great melody which is why I liked the 'Pull' cd so much, check it out. The other cd's I got were the Waysted album 'Save Your Prayers' - now I know this was released years ago but I never listened to it so I got it and it's great! Stryper's, 'Murder By Pride'; great harmonies over some fantastic riffs. Great to see Tim Gaines back on tour with them for their UK date in Jan. Hot Leg deserves a mention. With the Hawkster you know exactly what you're getting and they were doing it before Steel Panther! Chickenfoot, great cd and as you'd expect from such a great bunch of players. Some great songs and not overdone on the guitars.
 


GIGS OF THE YEAR

 

Hard Rock Hell takes the top spot for me. Read my Über blog to fully get a flavour of why. Hanging out with close friends, playing a great gig and just generally being in a great environment of great music and friendly people. The fall out from it as well, getting asked to play the Ibiza Road Trip and getting such awesome feedback, from the forum and reviews from people I'd never met so that was truly fantastic.

 

Italy with Hardcore Superstar; playing twice with those guys in one year was fantastic, we highly respect them for what they do and how great they are at doing it! Check out the tailz.tv footage of the crowd, simply fantastic. Then the ULU in London, sold out show and great appreciative people. First trip to Ireland which couldn't have been better and they couldn't have looked after us better or been more appreciative of us coming over, but it was a great pleasure. Paris with Y&T just great and they really appreciated the gig and great to meet Steeve Estatof  the winner of French Pop Idol and find out he's a massive Tailz fan!

 

The Rock Gone Wild festival possibly would have been the best even of 2009 and it was such a shame to disappoint so many people but hopefully we can make it over for next year. The three Mott The Hoople shows I attended at the Hammersmith Apollo and  the Monmouth theatre were fantastic, not only from the perspective of meeting some fantastic new friends in the form of Verden Allen, Pete Watts and Ian Hampton, but just great to see they can still rock after all these years.

 

 
FILM OF THE YEAR


I really enjoyed '2012', 'Angels And Demons' was a bit disappointing after the book was so awesome. 'Avatar' is possibly the best film I haven't yet seen! 'The Wrestler' was good and especially enjoyed the soundtrack, of course! 'The Dark Knight', obviously brilliant. 'X-Men origins' was superb. 'Taken', 'Friday The 13th', 'Terminator Salvation'. If I had to pick one it would probably be 'Anvil - The Story Of Anvil' - What a brilliant bunch of guys and if Pepsi had his way, that really would have been us releasing that. Also the Maiden film I really enjoyed and if you're into Rock, then you really should see these films!  Couple of films I would like to see but not had chance - 'Transformers', 'District 9', 'Watchmen', 'Star Trek'.

 


TV SHOW OF THE YEAR


Terrible to say it but I actually enjoyed following 'The X Factor'. The early stages when they get up and you have no idea what to expect can be really great. 'Top Gear? As you can tell I don't watch much tv! 'American Chopper' is about the only series I follow apart from all the soaps. 

 

BOOK OF THE YEAR

 
I only read one book this year and that was 'Angels And Demons', awesome!

 


ÜBER RÖCK APPROVED PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR


For me it would be Zoot the hoot

 

 

ÜBER RÖCK DISAPPROVED VILLAIN OF THE YEAR
 

?
 


BANDS TO WATCH IN 2010

 

I liked Morph when I saw them recently. As you can tell from my cd purchases this year, I don't catch on to a lot of new stuff! Wrathchild's unreleased album has got some great tunes on it, they just need to get it out there!
 
 

 


ROB WATKINSBob_Watkins

 


ALBUMS OF THE YEAR

1.) Breandan Benson - 'My Old Familiar Friend'
2.) Big Elf - 'Cheat The Gallows'
3.) Tinted Windows - 'Tinted Windows'
4.) Cheap Trick - 'The Latest'
5.) Green Day - '21st Century Breakdown'
6.) White Lies - 'To Lose My Life'
7.) Circle Of One - 'Tied To The Machine'
8.) Incubus - 'Monuments And Melodies' (Is this cheating cause it's a greatest hits thing?!)
9.) Creed - 'Full Circle'
10.) The Wildhearts - 'Chutzpah'

 

GIGS OF THE YEAR

 

AC/DC - Birmingham LG Arena
Kings X - Wolverhampton
Mott The Hoople - Monmouth
The Wildhearts - Wolverhampton
U2 - Cardiff

 

FILM OF THE YEAR

 

'Angels And Demons'

 

TV SHOW OF THE YEAR

 

Any repeats of 'Minder' or 'Lovejoy'

 

BOOK OF THE YEAR

 

'John' by Cynthia Lennon

 

ÜBER RÖCK APPROVED PERSONALITY OF 2009

 

Roger Joseph Manning Jr

 

ÜBER RÖCK DISAPPROVED VILLAIN OF 2009

 

Dumpy


BANDS TO WATCH IN 2010

 

Anyone who sounds like Enuff Z Nuff, Jellyfish or Jackdaw 4
                                                               

 

 

 

ZOOTMisfits_078

 

ALBUMS OF THE YEAR


10 albums in no order;

 

Fell On Black Days - 'Bring Out Your Dead'
This System Kills - 'Free Speech'
Lifer - 'Long Time Dead'
Slayer - 'World Painted Blood'
Cannibal Corpse - 'Evisceration'
Deathalizer - 'It Dwells Within'
Tygers Of Pan Tang - 'Animal Instinct'
Bad Samaritans - 'Bad Samaritans'
Bullet Ridden - '2009 demo'
Megadeth - 'End Game'
 


GIGS OF THE YEAR

 

Top 5 gigs no order;


Bad Samaritans - The Gwesty, Brynmawr
Slugfest 2 - Dolls House/The Mount, Abertillery
Lifer - The Playfest, Abertillery
This System Kills - The Gwesty, Brynmawr
Fell On Black Days - The Playfest, Abertillery

 


FILM OF THE YEAR

 

'Spunk Swallowing Sluts From Hell'

 


TV SHOW OF THE YEAR

 

'Miranda' - BBC comedy, very funny

 


BOOK OF THE YEAR

 

Viz

 


ÜBER RÖCK APPROVED PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR

 

Zoot

 


ÜBER RÖCK DISOWNED VILLAIN OF THE YEAR

 

Zoot


BANDS TO WATCH IN 2010

 

Deathalizer; Bad Samaritans; This System Kills; Lifer; Fell On Black Days