Gig Reviews
Mott The Hoople - Monmouth, Blake Theatre - 25/26th September 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Dom Daley and Johnny H   
Monday, 28 September 2009 17:11

Mott_ThmbWhat better way could we think of celebrating one month of Uber Rock being online, than attending both of the recent Mott The Hoople Reunion warm up shows in Monmouth? Dom Daley took in the Friday night whilst Johnny H got to roll away his stones with Ian Hunter and the guys on the Saturday.

 

Read more...
 
Primal Fear/Brainstorm – London, Relentless Garage - 25th September 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Dai Whistance   
Monday, 28 September 2009 16:36

primal_fearUber Rock's very own 'Classic Metal' specialist Dai Whistance took in a night of true metal at London's Relentless Garage last Friday, all expenses paid on the Mega Bus with a few bottles of White Lightning cider. His purpose, to catch the first show of Primal Fear's 2009 European Tour.

Read more...
 
LA Guns - Swansea Vice - 19th September 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Dom Daley   
Wednesday, 23 September 2009 15:52

1lagunsthumbDöm Daley gets cocked and loaded in order to wax lyrical on the Tracii Guns version of LA Guns, fronted by Love/Hate's Jizzy Pearl......

 

Read more...
 
Hobos Half Dayer - Bridgend Hobos - 5th September 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Dave Prince   
Sunday, 13 September 2009 14:29

bridgendalldayerDave Prince reports from half a half-dayer in a shiny new Welsh venue and discovers a whole host of hot new bands!!!!

Read more...
 
Lostprophets/The Young Guns/The Dead Formats - Newport, Leisure Centre - 27th August 2009. Print E-mail
Written by Johnny H   
Thursday, 03 September 2009 06:25
Lost_P_ThmbIt's mid way through Lostprophets set, and keyboardist/DJ Jamie Oliver turns to a sweat drenched Ian Watkins and proclaims to the masses "Water? They want water? We didn't want water when we saw Pantera here, did we Ian!"

 

Read more...
 
C.J Ramone – Swansea, Sin City - 14th August 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Dom Daley   
Wednesday, 19 August 2009 17:30

CJ-portrait_tmbOk its Friday night, and I'm in a smelly club in Swansea, and someone who used to stand on a stage and play with punk rock royalty is in da house.

Read more...
 
SLUGFEST 2 – Alma Street, Abertillery - 7th & 8th August 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Gaz E   
Monday, 10 August 2009 14:05
brabazon_tmbLast year’s inaugural Slugfest was an all day counter culture celebration that has somehow mutated into a two day pandemic of punk and metal with all proceeds being donated to the Hospice Of The Valleys charity.
Read more...
 
Warrior Soul - Bristol, Fleece - 7th July 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Gaz E   
Sunday, 26 July 2009 20:42
warrior-soul-016thmThe last time I travelled to see Kory Clarke play live turned out to be one of the most bizarre nights of my rock ‘n’ roll life.
Read more...
 
New York Dolls – Orlando, House of Blues - 11th June 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Dom Daley   
Tuesday, 21 July 2009 11:19

new_york_dolls_thmPut New York Dolls tickets in pocket - check; make sure passport is up to date - check; get on jumbo jet - check;  take seat - check;  watch brother in law pass out - check...

Read more...
 
AC/DC – London, Wembley Stadium - 26th June 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Dan Hayes   
Friday, 27 June 2008 00:00

acdc_thmI had never seen AC/DC before, so was justifiably excited by the prospect of correcting this.  There have been opportunities to see them before, but, being something of a late convert, I’ve always passed up on them.

Read more...
 
Zico Chain/Spiridion/Members of Me - Cardiff Barfly - 25th September 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Johnny H   
Sunday, 27 September 2009 17:14

Chris_thmbUber Rock HQ sent Johnny H out in Cardiff City on a Friday night with an express command, 'No drinking, and review the Zico Chain gig!' Would anyone be safe? Least of all the bands? Read what he got up to here.  

 

Read more...
 
The Wildhearts/Black Spiders - Bristol 02 Academy - 18th September 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Johnny H   
Sunday, 20 September 2009 09:01
WH_thmb'Bristol, Fuck You and This One Horse Town', Black Spiders are in the house and they are pissed off. Well, so would you be if due to stupid gig start times (6:30 !!!) and road closures around the venue it meant that you were playing to only around two hundred people maximum (God only knows how many people No Americana played to....sorry guys we missed you).

 

Read more...
 
Love/Hate/Ricky Warwick/New Generation Superstars/ Vikki Van Zant - Swansea, Sin City - 28th August 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Dom Daley   
Thursday, 03 September 2009 06:42

LH_tmbIt's like the nineties never happened in Swansea's Sin City tonight.   I'm waiting for a four-band sleaze rawk show to start and that's Jay Pepper from Tigertailz stood just yards way. Jesus I'm starting to doubt if Britpop ever really happened here.  Then the harsh realisation that this was in fact a gig celebrating Love Hate's twentieth anniversary of their seminal 'Blackout in the Red Room' sent me back down to earth with an age defining bump. 

 

Read more...
 
The Living End - Swansea, Sin City - 25th August 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Johnny H   
Monday, 31 August 2009 20:29

Chris_thmbAustralian punk rockers The Living End are over in the UK for a series of five shows that culminates in the Reading and Leeds Festivals on August Bank Holiday. 

 

 

Read more...
 
Sonisphere Festival – Knebworth House - 2nd August 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Johnny H   
Wednesday, 12 August 2009 19:02

sonisphere_tmbThe last time I visited the beautiful surrounding of Knebworth House for a gig, way back in 1985, the day was a total wash out, both weather and band wise.

Read more...
 
Onslaught / Lifer / This System Kills / Fell On Black Days – Abertillery, Playfest - 24th July 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Johnny H   
Sunday, 26 July 2009 20:51
onslaughtcropbw_thmIf someone had told me twenty years ago that I would one day be watching the UK’s premier thrash band Onslaught in my home town, I would have called that person delusional.
Read more...
 
Testament / Onslaught / Warbringer - Bristol, O2 Academy - 23rd July 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Johnny H   
Sunday, 26 July 2009 12:11

testament_thbIt’s taken me a total of something like 22 years to finally get to see Testament play a headline set in the UK.

Read more...
 
Misfits – Newport, TJ’s - 27th June 2009 Print E-mail
Written by Gaz E   
Saturday, 18 July 2009 17:38
misfits01There is, without question, a certain notoriety that goes hand in skeletal hand with a Misfits show in the legendary TJ’s venue in Newport.
Read more...
 
«StartPrevNextEnd»

Page 45 of 45