ALBUM NEWS: Robert Plant to release ‘Carry Fire’ in October. Tour dates to follow. Print E-mail
Friday, 18 August 2017 08:20

Robert Plant is to release his 11th solo album, ‘Carry Fire’, on Friday 13 October, via Nonesuch/Warner Bros.

 

Robert Plant - Carry Fire

 

His first full-length release since 2014’s ‘lullaby and...The Ceaseless Roar’, it was produced by Plant at Top Cat studio in Box, Wiltshire with additional recordings at Real World and Rockfield studios.

 

As with ‘lullaby and...The Ceaseless Roar’, Plant is accompanied by The Sensational Space Shifters: John Baggott on keyboards, moog, loops, percussion, drums, brass arrangement, t’bal, snare drum, slide guitar, piano, electric piano, bendir; Justin Adams on guitar, acoustic guitar, oud, E-bow quartet, percussion, snare drum, tambourine; Dave Smith on bendir, tambourine, djembe, drum kit; and Liam “Skin” Tyson on dobro, guitar, acoustic guitar, pedal steel, twelve-string.  Folk singer and multi-instrumentalist Seth Lakeman appears on three tracks and will join the band for the subsequent UK and Irish tour dates.

 

A number of special guests also appear on the album, with Chrissie Hynde singing the duet ‘Bluebirds Over The Mountain’ (written by rockabilly legend Ersel Hickey and later recorded by both Richie Valens and The Beach Boys) and Albanian cellist Redi Hasa performing on three tracks.

 

Plant says of the album:

 

“It’s about intention, I respect and relish my past works but each time I feel the trawl and incentive to create new work. I must mix old with new. Consequently, the whole impetus of the band has moved on its axis somewhat, the new sound and different space giving way to exciting and dramatic landscapes of mood, melody and instrumentation”.

 

Robert Plant And The Sensational Space Shifters have confirmed the following tour dates:

 

Thursday 16 November - Plymouth, Pavilions 

Friday 17 November - Bristol, Colston Hall 

Monday 20 November - Wolverhampton, Civic 

Wednesday 22 November – Llandudno, Venue Cymru 

Friday 24 November - Newcastle, City Hall 

Saturday 25 November - Liverpool, Olympia 

Monday 27 November – Glasgow, SEC Armadillo

Tuesday 28 November – Perth, Concert Hall 

Thursday 30 November - Manchester, O2 Apollo

Saturday 2 December – Belfast. Ulster Hall 

Sunday 3 December – Dublin, Bord Gais Energy Theatre

Wednesday 6 December – Sheffield, City Hall 

Friday 8 December – London, Royal Albert Hall 

Monday 11 December – Portsmouth, Guildhall 

Tuesday 12 December – Birmingham, Symphony Hall 

 

Tickets for all shows go on sale next Friday (25 August) from all usual outlets.

 

www.facebook.com/robertplant/